VILLAGE OF SIREN - VILLAGE BOARD MEETING TUESDAY APRIL 16, 2024

MINUTES

The Reorganizational Village Board meeting held on April 16, 2024, was called to order at 9:07 a.m. by Village President Dave Alden.

Members Present: Dave Alden, Rick Engstrom, Janet Hunter, Ed Johnson

Members Absent: Jeff Johnson, Steve Young

Others Present: Ann Peterson, Clerk/Treasurer; Ann Johnson; Greg Marsten,

Burnett County Sentinel; Trevor Thiex, Police Chief

Village Clerk/Treasurer Ann Peterson swore in Ed Johnson as Village Trustee.

A motion was made by Ed Johnson and seconded by Rick Engstrom to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried without negative vote.

President Alden gave the President's Report and announced that he will finish his term of office as Village President until April of 2025.

NEW BUSINESS

A motion was made by Rick Engstrom and seconded by Ed Johnson to confirm President Alden's Appointments (first named to be Chair):

- i. Buildings, Grounds & Parks Committee: Janet Hunter, Ed Johnson, Trustee #6
- ii. Personnel & Finance Committee: Janet Hunter, Jeff Johnson, Steve Young
- iii. Public Safety Committee: Steve Young, Rick Engstrom, Ed Johnson
- iv. Streets & Utilities Committee: Rick Engstrom, Dave Alden, Jeff Johnson
- v. Citizen Appointments to Planning Commission and Board of Appeals: Kevin Swanson & John Howe (three-year terms) and Bill Hunter to fill the remainder of Ed Johnson's term set to expire in April of 2025
- vi. Ball Park Committee: Brian Webster, Tina Karsten, Jim Jaskolka, Jeff Johnson, Trevor Thiex
- vii. Board Representative to Siren Fire Association: Steve Young
- viii. Board Representative to Burnett County Towns Association: Janet Hunter
- ix. Tourism Commission: Dave Alden (citizen member), Kevin Klukas (Burnett County Tourism Coalition), Steve Rohde & Gerry Gadke (hotel/motel owners), Jenni Smith (Siren Chamber of Commerce), Janet Hunter (Board member)
- x. Board Representative to Burnett County Housing Committee: Trustee #6
- xi. Citizen Member of Joint Review Board: Doug Beedle
- xii. Designation of Official Depositories for Village funds: Bremer Bank, Community Bank, Local Government Investment Pool
- xiii. Designation of Official Newspaper: Inter County Leader

Motion carried without negative vote.

A motion was made by Janet Hunter and seconded by Rick Engstrom to appoint Ed Johnson as a Village Board member to Planning Commission. President Alden called for a roll call vote:

Alden aye Hunter aye Engstrom aye E Johnson aye

Motion carried.

The meeting schedule was set as follows:

A motion was made by Rick Engstrom and seconded by Ed Johnson to adjourn the Village Board Meeting at 9:17 a.m. Motion carried without negative vote.

Submitted by Ann L Peterson, WCMC/CMTW

and Peterson

Village Clerk/Treasurer